Wednesday, September 1, 2010

Press Release For Northern Ranger Football Club

2010 Club Best and Fairest Awards and All Northern State Semi Final at the NTCA

The Northern Rangers held their annual best and fairest count to decide the winners of the clubs 5 seniors sides best and fairest awards, and another great night uncovered some great and generally expected results.

Todd Hingston won the Senior best and fairest after he polled enough votes to have a game off against Devonport when he took an unassailable lead following the Somerset game in round 17. Hingston took more votes against Devonport anyway and finished with 27 votes, 6 votes ahead of Andrew Nicholson (21) who also had a stand out year at right midfield. Honourable mentions to Sam Luck (14) and Derek Schipper (13)

The Award is Hingston’s second club best and fairest in as many years since joining the club in 2009, he last year shared the award with Derek Schipper and went on the win the Football Federation Tasmania George Dale Medal for the Northern Premier Leagues Best player in 2009

The most important side in the Club has to be the under 18s’ where the futures success lies. A stella year for the Burk household saw younger sibling Josh take the award with 13 votes, just one vote ahead of the sides defensive rock in Tom Burk.

Big things have traditionally come from the pick of the under 18’s with club legends names like Tim Schipper, Sam Luck, Andrew Davies, Ben deRuiter, Ayden Demejier and Stefan Jago all winning at least one Under 18 best and fairest, and all have gone onto represent the club at Senior level.

Great news for the clubs goal keeping stocks with Alex Bligh posting well with 10 votes next to Lian Thang also on 10.

For the Reserves it was a case of scoring goals was higher rated than stopping them, with Chad honey taking out the award with 16 votes, just ahead of first year reserve player Josh vanZetten on 13 and captain and defense maestro Ben deRuiter on 11 and Patty Lanua-Atkinson also on 11.

The Women’s was a close battle with Felicity Shaw winning her first award for the club on 18 votes, just 2 votes ahead of 2008 winner Bec Wheatley, who also had a fine year. Emily Hudson and Anna Stackhouse both also featured highly with 14 votes each.

A very even spread in Division 1 saw some 20 players receive votes during the year, Tim Armstrong eventually stormed home with a late flurry or votes, finishing on 17 ahead of Mitch Billing on 14 votes.

What a night, and congratulations to Todd Hingston, Chad Honey, Josh Burk, Felicity Shaw and Tim Armstrong.

Northern Rangers host Burnie United this week in the State Championship Semi Final after both clubs beat their Southern Based counterparts Clarence United and Hobart Zebras last weekend.

The Game kicks off at 2pm at the NTCA in Launceston and is the only soccer game in the north this weekend. The winner will meet the winner between South Hobart and Devonport Strikers which is being played at Hobart’s KGV ground also on Saturday @ 2pm.